the human condition…is everywhere

I haven’t been posting lately because I am working on NaNoWriMo, and somehow, every time I attempt this feat, I rediscover that I only have a set number of words I am capable of producing in a day, and today’s quota is going to be spent here. Frankly, I don’t how how to get through the rest of my day if I don’t put down in words the feelings that are not just welling up, but spilling out all over the place.

Generally, I’m not very open with my feelings. I was thunderstruck this afternoon when I got a call from Vicky to share the contents of mystery package she received. A little back history first. Vic, some of you may know, was actively involved in the Marine Corps Junior ROTC in high school, and considered a career in the military…she even gave a shot to the Army ROTC program in college before deciding that she preferred a man in uniform to herself in uniform.

She’s been actively involved in corresponding with soldiers deployed to the combat zones, and has established some lovely friendships, and then they come back and move on with their lives and she picks up a new soldier to write. Until now. Her soldier was killed in a bombing in Baghdad.

When she shared that news with me, it was devasting, and after some prayers for the repose of his soul, and his family’s peace, I moved on, as I thought perhaps she had. Until today, when she received a very special package.

His parents sent her the casket flag, along with a letter detailing how he often spoke of her and how her correspondence had been such an integral part of his life.

How little we know of the effect we have on others.

Be kind.

9 thoughts on “the human condition…is everywhere

  1. What beautiful story. We often never know the impact we have on others. What a blessing to receive this affirmation.

  2. To the soldier and family… my prayers !!

    To Vicky …What a great charity lesson !!

    To some of us…perhaps we should read “1 CORINTHIANS 13” more often !!

    Love,
    POP

Hi! Wanna say something? Go ahead. Be nice.